Team History

National Tournament Competitors

1955 Paul Walter

1983 Don Bugg

1984 Elisha Tarter

1985 Don Bugg

Stacey Skeels

1986 Sandy Gasseling

1987 David Evans

Karyn Fleshman

Julie Loktev

1991 Tewana Wilkerson

1998 Ryan Green

2020 Alexander DeMartine

Dominic DeMartine

Caitlin Tapia

2021 Emma Balwin

Ramona Edwards

Aiden Hurst

Anna Sundheim

Caitlin Tapia

2022 Anna Sundheim

Lilie Kamakele

Aiden Hurst

Lauren "L" Strait

Ramona Edwards

Preston Roundy

Emma Baldwin

Chloe Domago

Top NSDA Honor Society Merit Points All Time

LHS Distinction and Above NSDA Points

Diamond Coaches

1986 Terry Roulier - 1st Diamond

News Archive

Alex DeMartine earns the District Alumni Award for 20-21

The District Alumni Achievement Award showcases a speech and debate alumni from the district who has utilized their speech and debate talents to achieve success for the speech and debate community. Below is the winning nomination submission:

I would like to nominate Alex DeMartine. He has been instrumental to our Northern Colorado community in several ways. First, he has judged every weekend in just about every round. He has always taken rounds when most judges are setting availability to be very limited. From a Loveland perspective, he has allowed our students to double-enter and beyond so that our students are able to participate well past single or double events. Many schools really enjoy Alex's thorough feedback and style which makes speech and debate even more enjoyable.

Beyond judging, Alex has helped coach the Loveland squad. I could not have made it through the season without him. He took over the PF and LD debate teams and really helped them grow. So much so that he got our freshman team to be competitive with the best teams in the district. Getting them to qualify for State and Almost into elimination round at Nat Quals. He got a first-year LD debater to qualify for State and competitive at Districts. His presence has kept our team together and I am very thankful that he helped every week. He would answer questions and help at any hour and any day they needed him.

Coach GS earns the District Volunteer of the Year Award for 20-21

The District Volunteer of the Year Award showcases individuals who have given extraordinary time and talents to the mission of meaningfully involving more students in speech and debate. Below is the winning nomination submission:

I would like to nominate Everett Graves-Swinney for volunteer of the year for the district. Everett found my program last year and I have been grateful ever since. It isn't every day a two-time national qualifier asks if he can help coach the students. He has been amazing working with the students in debate and extemp creating a competitive edge for Loveland where we didn't have one previously. He has been truely selfless with his incredibly valuable time.

Everett has judged every weekend and we are lucky to have him week in and out regardless if we have enough judges or not. Having such an experienced judge who is willing to judge everything while providing top-notch feedback on what to improve has been a source of pride in what we can offer the district.

Loveland HS Qualifies 5 Students for the 2021 National Tournament

Loveland High School is proud to announce that Caitlin Tapia, Anna Sundheim, Emma Balwin, Aiden Hurst, and Ramona Edwards qualified to the National Speech and Debate Association’s National Tournament. Only 1% of National Speech and Debate Association members qualify for the tournament, which is the pinnacle of competitive public speaking.

More than 6,000 students from 1,200 schools are expected to compete at the 2021 National Speech and Debate Tournament. The tournament offers 22 different competitive events in debate, acting, and other public speaking events. More than $150,000 in scholarships will be awarded to students

Since 1925, the National Speech & Debate Association has been recognizing student and coach achievements in speech and debate. The National Tournament is one of the ways this is done, by allowing students from across the country to compete in a week-long competition that emphasizes excellence, academic achievement, advocacy, as well as fostering future leaders.

Loveland HS Qualifies 7 Students to 2021 State 5A Tournament

Loveland High School is proud to announce that Caitlin Tapia, Anna Sundheim, Emma Balwin, Aiden Hurst, Alice Bradley, Chloe Domago, and Ramona Edwards qualified to the Colorado High School Activities Association’s 5A State Tournament. Less than 10% of speech and debate students in the state qualify for the tournament, which has the largest, most competitive schools in the state.